Cabrillo senior Erin Jenkins is the Los Padres League Girls Baskeball MVP, and three of her teammates are on the All-LPL First Team.

The LPL selections were announced earlier this week. After losing 47-42 in overtime to Downey Warren in the CIF Southern Section 3AA championship game, the Conquistadores played a first-round Division 3 state tournament game at home Wednesday night.

Lompoc senior Danielle Morgan is the LPL Defensive Most Valuable Player. Cabrillo sophomore guard Jesse Jenkins, senior forward Valerie Monzon and senior guard Alyssa Stewart are all on the All-LPL First Team.

021518 LHS RHS g basketball 06.jpg

Lompoc's Danielle Morgan drives around Righetti's Ashley Reynoso during a Feb. 15 playoff game. 

The rest of the First Team consists of Lompoc freshman guard Mya Mendoza, Templeton senior forward Julia Aurignac and junior guard Camryn Roth, and Nipomo freshman guard Clarissa Simonson.

The All-LPL Second Team consists of strictly forwards, including Cabrillo junior Alexa McCune and freshman Morgan McIntyre, along with Ashley Quiroga of Santa Ynez, Shantille Simonson of Nipomo, Kayla Taylor of Lompoc, Haley Hurdle of Templeton and Willow Bailey of Morro Bay.

Quiroga, Hurdle and Bailey are seniors. Simonson and Taylor are sophomores.

Senior guards Denisse Martinez of Cabrillo and Sarah Perkins of Santa Ynez all earned honorable mention, along with sophomore guards Vanessa Salazar of Orcutt Academy and Alyssa Grossi of Lompoc, junior guard Abbey Gutierrez of Nipomo and senior forward Andrea Silvas of Santa Maria.

022117 Bloom SY girls soccer 07.jpg

Bloomington’s goalkeeper Yessenia Martinez grabs a Pirate shot from Santa Ynez’ Julia Pritchard.

Girls soccer

League champion Santa Ynez swept the top LPL awards, with seniors Julia Pritchard and Sarina Diaz being named the Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year respectively.

Santa Ynez junior midfielder Monica Pizano and sophomore forward Sarah Johnston both made the All-Los Padres League First Team. Lompoc sophomore Ayziah Simmons was the other First Team forward.

120116 Righetti SY Girls Soccer 16.jpg

Righetti Warrior Brooke Minetti (8) battles for the ball with Santa Ynez Pirate Sarina Diaz (6).

Other First Team midfielders included Lompoc senior Hannah Montalban, Orcutt Academy sophomore Keanna Ackerman, Templeton senior Elizabeth Magie, Moro Bay senior Grace Hotaling and Nipomo sophomore Hyde Gallardo.

The First Team defenders are Lompoc senior Marina Tamayo, Orcutt Academy sophomroe Kira Hopkins and Cabrillo freshman Bianca Gonzales. The First Team goalkeeper is Templeton senior Sydney D'Aquisto.

The Second Team defenders are Santa Ynez sophomore Katelyn Rennie, Santa Ynez senior Lilly Lopez, Lompoc senior eliciia Tinoco, Orcutt Academy sophomore Mecaelea Lopez and Marianna Chavez and Templeton junior Iveth Cortes.

The defenders are Lompoc sophomores Katie Guzman, Tempelton senior Ashley Ingle, Morro Bay senior Mia Codron, Nipomo senior Dianna DeLeon and Cabrillo junior Rhea Stone-Valdez. The goalkeeper is Santa Ynez senior Breanna Rodrigues.

Defenders Natalie Ochoa of Lompoc (senior), Grace Denton of Orcutt Academy (sophomore) and Olivia Torres of Santa Ynez (freshman), along with Nipomo senior midfielder Jackie Lopez and Cabrillo junior goalkeeper Kailey McNamee, earned honorable mention.

Girls water polo

021518 NP CHS g polo 02.jpg

Cabrillo's Mary Rhodes scores on a penalty shot as Newberry Park's Molly Manzana (3) defends during Thursday's CIF-SS girls water polo playoff game. Rhodes led the Conqs with four goals.

Cabrillo won another Los Padres League championship, and Cabrillo sophomore Mary Rhodes is the league MVP.

Three Cabrillo field position players are on the All-LPL First Team. They are juniors Gretchen Von Protz and Ashlyn Wiswall and senior Jillian Larson. The rest of the First Team field position players are Santa Ynez junior Annie Ackert and sophomore Teghan Miller, Nipomo junior Carly Billinger and Morro Bay senior Aspen Bryant. The goalkeeper is Morro Bay junior Violette Nava.

The Second Team field position players are Cabrillo seniors Jackie Garcia and Nicole Zarinan, Santa Ynez junior Layna King and sophomore Allison Alderete, Santa Maria senior Vanessa Garcia and Nipomo junior Melirose Aranjo. The goalkeeper is Nipomo sophomore Eemely Acosta.

Field position payers Natalie Oregon of Santa Maria (senior), Katrina Snyder of Nipomo (senior), Emily Cunningham of Santa Ynez (sophomore), and senior goalkeepers Sam Guerrero of Cabrillo and Kendal Martin of Lompoc earned honorable mention.


Load comments